Book Torrent Walk Cottages


Plas Hen
Brithdir
Dolgellau
Gwynedd
LL40 2RG

T: 01341 422783
E: info@caerynwch.com

About The Torrent Walk

The picturesque, landscaped woodland walk along the banks of the river Clywedog (Torrent) at Brithdir was commissioned by Baron Richards (Chief Baron of the Exchequer) as an extension to the gardens of his house at Caerynwch in around 1800.

The commission for the design and construction of the walk was given to Thomas Payne and his son. (Thomas Payne senior was also responsible under William Madoc for the construction of the ’Cob’ embankment at Portmadog.) The Torrent Walk passes through mixed beech and oak woodland and provides spectacular views of the many waterfalls as the Torrent bounds down the steep slope over immense boulders and through narrow gorges. In spring time, the air is full of the scent of wild garlic and the ground is covered with a mass of bluebells. The walk has always been open to the public and was dedicated as a Public Footpath in the early 1900s.

When first constructed, the walk followed a circular route down one side of the river before crossing a bridge at Dolserau and then returning back up the other side. Some while later, the return route disappeared following erosion of the bank. Five years ago The Snowdonia National Park together with the adjoining landowners reconstructed the lost section of the route and walkers can once again enjoy the wonderful scenery from both banks.

The video below shows footage of the 'Torrent Walk' and explains it's history.

Excerpt from Y Dref Gymreig - Copyright Fflic.